Driving on Suspended License in Illinois
If my Illinois license is put on hold or withdrawn and I drive, just what are the possible penalties? Under Illinois regulation, pursuant to 625 ILCS 5/6-303, it is unlawful for an individual to drive or remain in actual physical control of a car when their motorist’s license, permit, or benefit to do so or the advantage to get a motorist’s license or permit is withdrawn or put on hold.
The penalties connected with breaking this statute vary depending on the reason that a motorist’s license is put on hold or withdrawn. If you are stopped and your license is put on hold or revoked for any of the factors here, you will certainly see that the charges in Illinois can be serious. Even if you are cited with a misdemeanor violation, a conviction will certainly create the Secretary of State to re-suspend or revoke your license for the same amount of time as the initial suspension or cancellation. To possibly avoid your suspension or abrogation being prolonged, it is essential to work with a criminal defense lawyer that handles these sorts of citations frequently.
If you receive a conviction the possible penalties can be:
If your license is suspended: The Secretary of State will expand the suspension for the same period of time as the original suspension
If your license is revoked: The Secretary of State will not release a driver’s license for an additional period of one year from the day of conviction
- Class A Misdemeanor
- Approximately 364 days behind bars
- Usually qualified for court guidance
- Course A Misdemeanor
- Approximately 364 days in jail
- Generally not qualified for court supervision
- Required to serve a minimum of 100 hours of community service
3rd or succeeding infraction:
- Class A Misdemeanor
- Up to 364 days behind bars with a mandatory minimal regard to imprisonment of 30 consecutive days or 300 hours of community service
- Along with other charges imposed, the court could confiscate the license plates of the person’s car or immobilize the person’s vehicle for a period of time identified by the court
- If you have any previous offenses and create a motor vehicle accident that creates personal injury or death to one more persons.